Home >
About >   News
Students Feted at Varsity Athletic Awards Banquet
Posted 05/23/2017 08:26AM

Seven outstanding students were recognized at the 2017 Varsity Banquet on May 20. From left to right: Joshua Joo '17, Bowling, Robert Fulford Scholar ­Athlete Award; April Laxamana '17, Cross Country, Robert Fulford Scholar ­Athlete Award; Kellen Takatsuka '17, Basketball and Volleyball, Male Athlete of the Year; Madison Moku '18, Track and Field, Female Athlete of the Year; Ally Wada '18, Volleyball and Basketball, Female Athlete of the Year; Evan Ebesu '17, Sporter Air Riflery and Precision Air Riflery, Ken & Rosemond Street Sportsmanship Award; and Kyara Bunch '17, Cross Country and Track and Field, Ken & Rosemond Street Sportsmanship Award. Photo by Deren Oshiro.

About 330 students, coaches, parents and guests gathered at the HBA Varsity Athletic Awards Banquet on May 20. The annual event, held for the seventh consecutive year at the Manoa Grand Ballroom, recognized all of the HBA students who participated in varsity sports during the past school year for HBA, Pac­Five or other combination teams.

The varsity banquet is one of the few opportunities during the year to bring together the students, coaches, and parents from various varsity teams and sports, so it serves as a time of fellowship and is an uplifting way to culminate each sports year.

This year, four teams were honored for winning their respective ILH Championship. These were girls and boys volleyball, girls tennis, and boys bowling. Two teams finished as HHSAA State Runners-Up (girls volleyball, girls cross country) and one team won an HHSAA State Championship (boys volleyball).

The HBA Athletic Department also recognized Athletic Trainer Shannon Keen with an honorary plaque. Keen is beginning the nurse practicioner program this fall at the University of Hawaii at Manoa after seven years of service to HBA.

The HBA Athletic Booster Club helped subsidize the event for the athletic department. KTM Services/Enjoy Products donated the centerpieces (snack mix, containers, wrap and decorations). Open Mortgage donated the favors (chocolate covered fortune cookies).

In all, about 135 students were presented with certificates, letters, pins and team awards.

Pac­-Five award winners:

  • Noelle Nakamura '17 (softball)
  • Nick Kanno '17 (boys soccer)
  • Evan Ebesu '17 (precision riflery)
  • Alexa Yoo '17 (sporter air riflery)
  • Brandon Miyasato '17 (baseball)

The special award winners:

Eagle Award (students who lettered in 3 varsity sports)

  • Ka'imilani Duncklee '20 (volleyball, basketball, water polo)
  • Payton Lee '19 (football, basketball, track)
  • Peyton Oshiro '19 (cross country, basketball, track)
  • Keiko Ann Sanders '17 (cross country, wrestling, judo)

Ken & Rosemond Street Sportsmanship Awards

  • Male – Evan Ebesu '17 (sporter air riflery, precision riflery)
  • Female – Kyara Bunch '17 (cross country, track)

Athletes of the Year

  • Male – Kellen Takatsuka '17 (basketball, volleyball)
  • Female – Ally Wada '18 (volleyball, basketball), Madison Moku '18 (track)

Robert Fulford Scholar ­Athlete Awards (Each winner presented with a check for $1,000)

  • Male – Joshua Joo '17 (bowling)
  • Female – April Laxamana '17 (cross country

powered by finalsite